East Belfast Welcomes 40 New Artists

East Belfast Welcomes 40 New Artists

Tucked on the third floor of a big office block in East Belfast, who would expect to encounter 40 artists in newly refurbished studios– but today the Lord Mayor, John Finucane, will meet the members of QSS Studios, to formally open their new premises at the Arches on the Newtownards Road.

Lord Mayor of Belfast, Councillor John Finucane said: “I’m absolutely delighted to be here today to officially open this exciting new work space for QSS in the heart of East Belfast. It’s fantastic to see so many creative minds gathered under one roof, adding to our city’s already vibrant and diverse arts scene.”

Heather Moorhead, Chair of QSS said “Our members; painters, sculptors, and performance artists are delighted to be in such exceptional studios. Our key ambition is to support our artists make incredible work showing locally and internationally, but we also can now use our new gallery and workshop space to bring the arts closer to local people. We are so thankful to all those who have supported us make this significant move.”

Chair of the EastSide Partnership, Andrew Hassard said, “We are delighted to welcome QSS to join an increasing number of creative organisations to east Belfast– this is all part of the area plan to establish the area as a creative hub.”

Addressing 175 guests from the locality and arts community, Roisin McDonough, Chief Executive of the Arts Council of Northern Ireland, said: “The growing concentration of artists and arts organisations in east Belfast is transforming this part of the city. As principal funder, we are delighted to support this positive development in the
history of one of Belfast’s most highly-acclaimed studio groups.”

QSS is the longest serving studio group in Belfast, founded over 30 years ago. They have a range of emerging artists, together with many established artists displaying work locally and all around the world – this year alone members have exhibited work in Belgium, Germany, Italy, Sweden and the USA.

The gallery at 11-13 Bloomfield Avenue will be open Tuesday to Thursday, 10:00 – 17:00.

Artists include: Sean Campbell, Gerard Carson, Hanna Clegg, Rachael Colhoun, Susan Connolly, Amanda Coogan, Mary Cosgrove, Alacoque Davey, Catherine Davison, Gerry Devlin, Craig Donald, Dan Ferguson, Joy Gerrard, Angela Hackett, Karl Hagan, Andrew Haire, Ciaran Harper, David Haughey, Amy Higgins, Ashley B Holmes, Dorothy Hunter, Frederic Huska, Sharon Kelly, Eleni Kolliopoulou, Rachel Lawell, Clement McAleer, Terry McAllister, Mark McGreevy, Meadhbh McIlgorm, Sinead McKeever, Michelle McKeown, Sharon McKeown, Grace McMurray, Jane Rainey, Gail Ritchie, Charlie Scott, Vasiliki Stasinaki, Anushiya Sundarlingam, Jennifer Trouton, David Turner and Trevor Wilson.